An East African lender’s Congolese subsidiary just posted the fastest absolute profit growth of any unit in its group — and it did so from Kinshasa, not Nairobi. Equity Group DRC bank profits climbed 58 percent in 2025 to KSh24.7 billion at Equity BCDC, now the second-largest bank in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
The figure was reported on 1 June 2026 by Billionaires.Africa, and it reframes how the group’s cross-border strategy is performing. In this piece you will find the locked numbers, what they suggest about Central African banking, and the methodology note behind gf6.com’s own four-year curated directory of bank branches and ATMs. Understanding the Equity Group DRC bank profits in full requires looking at these details closely.

The finding — what the data shows — Equity Group DRC bank profits
The headline fact is simple: the DRC is now Equity Group’s most profitable market outside Kenya. Here are the confirmed figures, exactly as reported: These figures put the Equity Group DRC bank profits into clearer perspective.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Reporting date | 1 June 2026 |
| Source outlet | Billionaires.Africa |
| Group | Equity Group (James Mwangi) |
| Subsidiary | Equity BCDC |
| Market rank in DRC | Second-largest bank |
| 2025 profit | KSh24.7 billion |
| Year-on-year profit growth | 58 percent |
| Ranking within group | Fastest absolute profit growth of any subsidiary; most profitable market outside Kenya |
| New announcement | Plans to set up two insurance businesses in the DRC |
Alongside the profit number, the group confirmed it will set up two insurance businesses in the DRC — a signal that management sees room to widen the product mix beyond deposit and lending services in the country. This context matters for anyone following the Equity Group DRC bank profits.
What it means
A 58 percent jump in a single subsidiary’s profit is unusually large for a regional bank, and the fact that this happened in the Democratic Republic of Congo — rather than in a more mature East African market — is the part that stands out. On the numbers alone, Equity BCDC has moved from being one of several cross-border units to being the group’s clearest growth engine outside its home country. It is a central thread in the wider Equity Group DRC bank profits.
Being ranked the DRC’s second-largest bank matters because scale in Central Africa is hard-won. The country is large, under-banked by regional standards, and dominated by cash — so a foreign-owned subsidiary reaching that position, then adding insurance lines on top, is a meaningful shift in the local financial map. It is also the kind of move that other East African lenders will study closely. Such details shaped how the Equity Group DRC bank profits unfolded.
What we cannot say from the reported facts is why profits rose so sharply. It was widely seen as the pay-off of the earlier Equity–BCDC merger, but the underlying drivers — loan book expansion, interest margin, fee income or currency effects — are not specified in the source. Readers should treat any single explanation as a hypothesis, not an established fact. This is one of the defining aspects of the Equity Group DRC bank profits.
The insurance announcement is the forward-looking piece. Adding two insurance businesses in the same market where a bank is already number two is a classic bancassurance play: use the existing customer base to cross-sell protection and savings products. Whether that succeeds will depend on regulation, distribution and local demand, none of which the current release quantifies.
Explore the full data behind this article: bank branches worldwide and ATMs worldwide in the gf6.com directory.
Methodology
The event facts in this article — the 58 percent profit rise, the KSh24.7 billion figure, Equity BCDC’s ranking as the DRC’s second-largest bank, and the plan to launch two insurance businesses — come from a single public report by Billionaires.Africa dated 1 June 2026. You can read the original here: Billionaires.Africa.
Context on the DRC banking footprint draws on gf6.com’s own curated worldwide directory of roughly 445,000 financial locations — about 346,000 bank branches and 99,000 ATMs. Collection began in 2020, reached a first largely complete version in 2022, and has been expanded and enriched manually for four years from public sources. It is not an official or government dataset, and it is not exhaustive. You can browse banks in Democratic Republic of Congo in the directory for a location-level view.
Frequently asked questions
How much did Equity BCDC earn in 2025?
Equity BCDC reported a 2025 profit of KSh24.7 billion, according to Billionaires.Africa. That figure is 58 percent higher than the prior year.
Why is the DRC result significant for Equity Group?
It is the fastest absolute profit growth of any subsidiary in the group and the group’s most profitable market outside Kenya. That places the Democratic Republic of Congo at the centre of Equity Group’s cross-border strategy.
What is Equity BCDC's position in the DRC market?
The report describes it as the second-largest bank in the Democratic Republic of Congo. No further ranking detail was given in the source, so we do not report one.
What new businesses is Equity Group planning in the DRC?
James Mwangi’s Equity Group confirmed plans to set up two insurance businesses in the country. The source does not specify their names, product focus or launch dates.
Does gf6.com track banks in the DRC?
Yes. The gf6.com directory includes bank branches and ATMs across the Democratic Republic of Congo, including Kinshasa, as part of a global sample of around 445,000 financial locations. Coverage varies by country and is not exhaustive.
Where can I read the original report?
The event was reported by Billionaires.Africa on 1 June 2026. The link is included in the methodology section above.


